New Young Pony Club

New Young Pony Club EP

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This six-track (plus one video) EP peculiarly sums up two of New Young Pony Club's first three singles, released from 2004 through 2006. "Ice Cream," their first A-side (used for a 2006 Intel commercial), is included, as is the dance mix of "Get Lucky" and a B-side, but "The Get Go" (which is at least the equal of the other two A-sides) is not. Instead, there are three remixes of "Ice Cream." While everything is enjoyable, it's frustrating that this wasn't a tidy, all-inclusive compilation of New Young Pony Club's releases up to their first album. Nonetheless, this is a small serving of sharp, playfully detached indie pop that owes much to early B-52's, the Waitresses, Bush Tetras, Romeo Void, and even Elastica. That it's also kind of a tease makes some degree of sense.

blue highlight denotes track pick