Nat King Cole

Nat King Cole Sings the Great Songs!/Thank You Pretty Baby

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

British EMI's reissue of Nat Cole Sings the Great Songs and Thank You, Pretty Baby, two posthumous albums, was a wise decision from the label. Excepting only Nat King Cole fanatics, neither of these albums are necessary on their own; both were assembled from stray session material, with the added indignity -- to arranger Nelson Riddle as much as Cole himself -- of a clumsily attached rhythm to nearly every song. Still, there is something good to be said for both of them. As stunning a jazz vocalist as he was, Cole was equally comfortable luxuriating in the gauziest of string arrangements, and he treats each of these love songs -- "I Had the Craziest Dream," "An Affair to Remember," "You Made Me Love You" -- with the proper amount of respect necessary. Purists will likely be unable to remain in the room while this one's on the hi-fi, but anyone with a healthy curiosity for pure vocal bliss and slightly dated crossover pop (think Vic Damone, not Mel Tormé) will find a few songs worthy of their time.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:02 Amazon
2 3:18 Amazon
3 2:29 Amazon
4 2:52 Amazon
5 2:19 Amazon
6 2:11 Amazon
7 2:39 Amazon
8 3:11 Amazon
9 2:33 Amazon
10 2:34 Amazon
11 2:35 Amazon
12 1:56 Amazon
13 1:50 Amazon
14 2:52 Amazon
15 2:08 Amazon
16 2:03 Amazon
17 2:16 Amazon
18 2:41 Amazon
19 3:20 Amazon
20 2:00 Amazon
21 1:57 Amazon
2:33 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick