The 'N Betweens

N Betweens [EP]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first lineup of the 'N Betweens -- the band that would eventually evolve into Slade -- recorded an extremely rare French EP for the Barclay label in 1965. Dave Hill and Don Powell were both in the group at the time these four songs were cut. They're fair but unexceptional covers of songs by Johnny Preston ("Feel So Fine"), the Sorrows ("Take a Heart"), and the Pretty Things ("You Don't Believe Me"), all done in the conventional mid-'60s British Invasion R&B-rock style. The other track, "Little Nightingale," is a generic tune with the same approach bearing the writing credit of "Page"; an educated guess would surmise that this might be then-session man Jimmy Page, who was one of the writers of "You Don't Believe Me." All four of the songs were reissued on the CD The Genesis of Slade, which features a couple dozen rare tracks by bands in which members of Slade played before Ambrose Slade formed. That CD also has the two singles and three outtakes, all recorded in 1966 and all superior to the songs on the 1965 EP, by the second lineup of the 'N Betweens, in which the personnel was identical to Slade.