Mr. Sun

Little Big Town

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Mr. Sun Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Take the title Mr. Sun to heart. This, Little Big Town's tenth proper studio album, is filled with sweetness, hope, and light, a record built for comfort, not speed. Consider the overwhelming sweetness as the band's way of processing the upheaval generated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Instead of wallowing in sorrow, they bask in the sunshine; even the slower ballads act as a balm, serving up soothing melodies instead of sadness. Such relentless positivity isn't monochromatic in the hands of Little Big Town -- which is good, as the record runs a very long 16 tracks. At that length, there's no avoiding a bit of sag. A whole lot of sweetness and light can be slightly stultifying, even when the slow tunes are executed with the precision of a pro. As good as those ballads are, Mr. Sun really springs to life when there's a slight spring in the group's step. The opener "All Summer" is candied perfection, a 1970s soft-rock melody given a spiffy reupholstering," "Heaven Had a Dance Floor" is a new wave spin on adult contemporary new wave, "Gold" is a bright rewrite of Maren Morris' "Rich," "Song Back" is a bright, pulsating number for a mature dance floor, while "Whiskey Colored Eyes" provides an ideal soundtrack for a sepia-toned sunset. These are the songs that give Mr. Sun its pulse and help keep things humming on this amiable affair.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Little Big Town 02:51 Amazon
2 Little Big Town 03:02 Amazon
3 Little Big Town 02:55 Amazon
4 Little Big Town 04:22 Amazon
5 Little Big Town 03:53 Amazon
6 Little Big Town 03:38 Amazon
7 Little Big Town 03:26 Amazon
8 Little Big Town 03:13 Amazon
9 Little Big Town 03:30 Amazon
10 Little Big Town 03:56 Amazon
11 Little Big Town 03:11 Amazon
12 Little Big Town 04:21 Amazon
13 Little Big Town 03:08 Amazon
14 Little Big Town 03:34 Amazon
15 Little Big Town 03:57 Amazon
16 Little Big Town 04:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick