Roberto Barata


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is the debut album by the Roberto Barata Trio (Roberto Barata, piano; André Luz, electric bass; Rafael Barata, drums). While it does not offer much in the way of innovation, it promises to entertain the lover of instrumental bossa sounds and background music skillfully performed. The music is highly indebted to Luís Eça's piano, and includes the classics "Eu e a Brisa" (Johnny Alf), "Samba do Avião" (Tom Jobim), "Rio" (Roberto Menescal/Ronaldo Bôscoli), and "A Felicidade" (Tom Jobim/Vinícius de Moraes). The release was the third one produced by Carlos Malta and the 500 Anos de Som project (launched in 2000), following Pimenta and the excellent Pixinguinha de Alma e Corpo.

blue highlight denotes track pick