Armin van Buuren

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Mirage Review

by Andy Kellman

Mirage won’t please those who have been dismayed with Armin van Buuren's move toward commercial dance-pop. The songs on the producer’s fourth studio album are among his most succinct and straightforward, sacrificing some of the dynamics -- the gradual builds especially -- that won over his early followers. The productions are, unsurprisingly, immaculate, but the lyrics are frequently dopey. This wouldn’t be an issue if the vocals weren’t placed front and center as part of van Buuren's effort to craft songs that function away from dancefloors. The Sophie Ellis-Bextor collaboration “Not Giving Up on Love” is the most euphoric of the lot, amidst vocal contributions from Nadia Ali (iiO), Christian Burns (Bleach Works), Adam Young (Owl City), and a few others.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Armin van Buuren 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
2 Armin van Buuren 06:41 SpotifyAmazon
3 Armin van Buuren 05:09 SpotifyAmazon
4 Armin van Buuren feat: Sophie Ellis-Bextor 02:53 SpotifyAmazon
5 Armin van Buuren 06:45 SpotifyAmazon
6 Armin van Buuren 04:41 SpotifyAmazon
7 Armin van Buuren 05:02 SpotifyAmazon
8 Armin van Buuren 03:58 SpotifyAmazon
9 Armin van Buuren 07:11 SpotifyAmazon
10 Armin van Buuren 02:44 SpotifyAmazon
11 Armin van Buuren 04:15 SpotifyAmazon
12 Armin van Buuren feat: Eller VanBuuren 06:20 SpotifyAmazon
13 Armin van Buuren 05:48 SpotifyAmazon
14 Armin van Buuren 05:17
15 Armin van Buuren 06:43 SpotifyAmazon
16 Armin van Buuren 03:59 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick