The Sea Ensemble

Memoirs of a Dream

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Memoirs of a Dream is a two-disc set of the Sea Ensemble, a 1970s duo of pianist/cellist/flutist Zusaan Kali Fasteau and bassist/clarinetist Donald Rafael Garrett. The husband and wife multi-instrumentalists incorporate an array of world folk music influences to create a sound that is casually ambient and relaxed; it's never aggressive but not uninteresting, either. The first disc contains a ½-hour long improvisation, "Streaming Love," which was recorded on four-track in Leiden, Holland in May, 1975. The second disc captures a live March, 1977 performance in Ankara, Turkey -- another continuous yet ever-changing improvisation called "Come From Deep." These recordings have not (to date) been remastered for their release on Fasteau's Flying Note label, but the sound quality is better than that of most bootleg concerts.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 10:20
2 11:36
3 4:53
4 3:08
5 3:16
6 7:02
7 4:09
8 2:31
9 7:25
10 2:09
11 1:56
12 2:41
blue highlight denotes track pick