Huggy Bear

Main Squeeze

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Unlike Huggy Bear's classic compilation of its earliest riot grrrl material, Taking the Rough With the Smooch, 1994's Main Squeeze certainly isn't the Brit band's most accessible release -- even by its defiantly lo-fi standards. On paper, the formula seems like typical Huggy Bear fare: This three-song single is full of girl-boy vocals, musical mayhem, and shouted -- if not decidedly indecipherable -- manifestoes such as "Secrets are fragmented/Traded for succession!" Unfortunately, only the jittering, skittering "My Best Kiss" comes even close to the near-perfect pop romps of "Herjazz" and "Shaved Pussy Poetry." The disappointing "Red Flipper #2" and "Children Absent From Heaven Says," however, are bogged down in the same sloppy guitar sludge that weighed down the band's final album, Weaponry Listens to Love.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:35
2 1:43
3 1:27
blue highlight denotes track pick