Boldy James

My 1st Chemistry Set

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On his official debut album, Boldy James teams with producer the Alchemist for a match made in gangsta heaven, seeing as how the Detroit rapper often seems like the duo of Mobb Deep rolled into one cold homie. "Leave his body where the Pistons play" is quintessential Boldy, and while old-school ballers will certainly be attracted to his new Mobb style with an Alchemist co-sign, there's something much more sinister and down about these tracks, seeing as how the Mobb lived in the shadow of the glamorous New York City that Alicia Keyes shouted out, while Boldy comes from the literally bankrupt town of Detroit. This ain't no disco, and it ain't no CBGB either, as the grimmest "Surprise Party" on wax finds a "pretty bitch" getting "shot dead in his face, in front of his baby mama," while Boldy, King Chip, and Freeway walk away without regrets. "You Know" gives up "And it's a known fact that I sold crack" while guest star Action Bronson spits some true talk during "Traction" with "This is grown man rap, you in the kiddie pool/You still pissin' in that little urinal." Still, Boldy is also a creative soul, getting trippy with some of the Wolf Gang crew on the odd left turn dubbed "Reform School" and throwing childish nicknames at the grim things that surround him during the great "Moochie." Check the strange creeper called "Give Me a Reason" for a startling combination of prog rock, stoned talk, and "don't judge" lyrics like "Got a crick in my neck so there's no looking back." Vivid details throughout the album seem like ammunition for any possible prosecution team, so be aware, this one is brutal, nihilistic, frightening, and unforgiveable, but it's "eye for an eye" music with a creative spark, and a great step toward the realm of The Infamous.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:13 Amazon
2 03:01 Amazon
3 03:30 Amazon
4 03:46 Amazon
5 04:46 Amazon
6 04:20 Amazon
7 04:22 Amazon
8 04:18 Amazon
9 03:21 Amazon
10 04:12 Amazon
11 03:37 Amazon
12 04:01 Amazon
13 03:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick