Kindred the Family Soul

Love Has No Recession

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Love Has No Recession is another deep and rich set of modern soul from Aja Graydon and Fatin Dantzler. Despite a label change, the Philadelphia duo remains true to the approach that has earned it a devoted following. The material grapples with romantic, familial, financial, and racial issues in a sobering but hopeful and ultimately uplifting way. It’s a bit overloaded with guest spots; Snoop Dogg sounds out of place, even though he tones it down a bit, and a go-go cut with Chuck Brown doesn’t reach liftoff. Several songs here rank among Dantzler and Graydon’s best and most lyrically frank output, from the classic-sounding ballad “Magic Happens” to rhythmically beefier productions like “We All Will Know” and “Take a Look Around.”

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:01 SpotifyAmazon
2 1:22
3 4:26
4 4:52
5 3:53
6 3:17 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:40
8 1:16
9 3:39 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:51 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:51 SpotifyAmazon
12 4:27
13 3:40
14 1:27
15 3:34 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:48
blue highlight denotes track pick