Let It Rain [EP]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Bronze is a bit of a throwback band. They would sound far more at home in the musical climate of the early '90s than they do in that of the early 2000s. The ringing guitars, heartfelt vocals, and honest melodies are reminiscent of bands like Trash Can Sinatras, Lloyd Cole, and the Railway Children. On their debut album, The Statue in the Stone, there are no traces of anything modern like drum machines, samples, or trip-hop atmospherics. Instead, there are jangling 12-string guitars, harmony vocals, and the strong lead vocals of Paul Handyside, who was the leader of Hurrah in the late '80s. Bronze also features a high level of songcraft: big, hooky choruses; snappy bridges; and soaring instrument breaks are the order of the day. The best songs, like "Let It Rain," "How Long," and "Just a Lie," stack up quite favorably against the songs from the bands with whom they share the late-'80s/early-'90s British indie aesthetic. There are a few surprising touches, like the neo-psychedelic coda on "Pilot to Your Plane" or the strange arrangement at the beginning of "Feel It Now," to keep things interesting, but mostly what you will find here is not surprising -- it is just good, solid British indie. If you are a fan of that, then you have a new band to champion.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:44
2 2:27
3 3:49
blue highlight denotes track pick