John Bunch


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Pianist John Bunch, who did not get an opportunity to record as a leader until he was already 53 in 1975, is heard on this set in fine form leading a drumless trio that also includes guitarist Cal Collins and bassist George Mraz. Although Collins and Mraz had not actually met before the session, the interplay between the three musicians is quite impressive. Bunch performs numbers by Hoagy Carmichael (the title cut), Johnny Mandel, Ahmad Jamal, Cole Porter, Bud Powell (the classic "Celia"), Lil Harden (a swinging "Struttin' With Some Barbecue") and his own "It's Love in the Spring" and "Cincinnati Slick." This fine mainstream set should satisfy fans of swing piano.