Doc Cheatham / Sammy Price

Jazz in Paris: Sammy Price & Doc Cheatham Play George Gershwin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This compilation in Verve's Jazz in Paris reissue series contains two separate sessions led by Sammy Price. The first, from 1956, features 14 piano solos by Price, exploring standards, classic jazz compositions, and some originals as well, so the title of this reissue is a bit misleading. The influence of Fats Waller, Earl Hines, and Teddy Wilson is evident in several of the selections, though Price is clearly his own man. The miniature performances of "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Rosetta" are joyous, while the loping midtempo arrangement of "Willow Weep for Me" is both elegant and entertaining. His compositions are hardly throwaway filler material, especially the fascinating "Tata's Blues." Two years later, Price was touring Europe while leading a band, but brought only one member into the studio, trumpeter Doc Cheatham. The eight-song set from this session focuses exclusively on George Gershwin's songbook, though Cheatham sits out three numbers. Although "Oh, Lady Be Good" and "Summertime" are laudable, it is their inspired condensed arrangement of "Rhapsody in Blue" (which is barely over three minutes) that proves to be the highlight of their duo session. Since Price and Cheatham were active professionally for six and seven decades respectively, this disc catches each of them roughly in the middle of their careers. While Cheatham was probably more widely known at the end of his long life, the music by both men within this CD is well worth acquiring.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:45
2 3:19
3 1:07
4 1:42
5 3:03
6 2:20
7 3:07
8 3:15
9 4:16
10 2:17
11 2:16
12 2:23
13 2:49
14 2:39
15 2:33
16 0:42
17 3:18
18 3:18
19 3:13
20 2:55
21 2:47
22 4:46
23 3:23
24 3:10
blue highlight denotes track pick