The Young Fresh Fellows

Japan Tour 1993

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released to promote five dates in Tokyo and Osaka, this seven-song sampler includes five originals and covers of Jonathan Richman's "Roller Coaster By the Sea" and the Dictators' "Teengenerate." After the false start of "Supersnazz" -- another in a series of the Young Fresh Fellows' cocktail jazz spaceouts -- the rest of the songs return this veteran Seattle band to its always spry guitar pop roots, with the chugging "Everybody Said Was Wrong," the nicely hokey "Rabbit Run" (funny pipe-organ sound), the more demure la-la pop of "Big Red," and the standout, wondrously cello-laden "City of Joy" (with Carla Torgerson from the Walkabouts helping out; Terry Adams and Tom Ardolino of NRBQ also appear on the Richman cover). As teasers go, this is fresh rate, err, first-rate. (Note: The band and EP's name on the front cover and spine are written in Japanese characters. This may be hard to spot.)