Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 8

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. Released in 1990, the eighth volume of the series includes Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus," Kitchens of Distinction's "Elephantine," the Sugarcubes' "Regina," Pale Saints' "Sight of You," Loop's "Arc-Lite," James' "Come Home," and the KLF's "Kylie Said to Jason." It's one of the best discs in the series, despite the presence of Alien Sex Fiend.