Mano Negra

In the Hell of Patchinko

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

In the Hell of Patchinko Review

by Thom Jurek

As if Mano Negra records weren't wild and wooly enough in the studio, to have them recorded live in front of a packed house in Kawasaki, Japan, where the crowd can't get enough, is almost too much to bear on CD. This set not only has every Negra classic on it you can image -- "Magic Dice," "County Line," "King Kong Five," "Indios de Barcelona," "El Sur," "Mad Man's Dead," four versions of "Mano Negra," "Pachuko Hop," "Mala Vida," "Junky Beat," "The Rebel Spell," and "Killing Rats" -- but every version here is the definitive one. The crazy rockabilly, swing, ska, polka, mariachi, punk, bluesed-out energetic fireball that is Mano Negra live has lost nothing in translation to this CD. A set that is seamless from beginning to end (and unedited), the sound and balancing are near perfect and all the edges are readily apparent to the human ear. There is energy, fun, excitement, pathos, derangement, sickness, blood, sex, and dope oozing from every cut here. Enough said.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Mano Negra 01:00 SpotifyAmazon
2 Mano Negra 02:34 SpotifyAmazon
3 Mano Negra 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
4 Mano Negra 03:04 SpotifyAmazon
5 Mano Negra 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
6 Mano Negra 00:52 SpotifyAmazon
7 Mano Negra 02:38 SpotifyAmazon
8 Mano Negra 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
9 Mano Negra 02:02 SpotifyAmazon
10 Mano Negra 03:29 SpotifyAmazon
11 Mano Negra 02:23 SpotifyAmazon
12 Mano Negra 01:22 SpotifyAmazon
13 Mano Negra 02:54 SpotifyAmazon
14 Mano Negra 00:40 SpotifyAmazon
15 Mano Negra 03:27 SpotifyAmazon
16 Mano Negra 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
17 Mano Negra 01:51 SpotifyAmazon
18 Mano Negra 00:19 SpotifyAmazon
Mano Negra 01:44 SpotifyAmazon
Mano Negra 02:32 SpotifyAmazon
21 Mano Negra 02:31 SpotifyAmazon
22 Mano Negra 02:18 SpotifyAmazon
23 Mano Negra 01:36 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick