Shirley Bassey

I'm in the Mood for Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A mid-priced compilation of Bassey's work from 1961 through 1971, but most concentrated on her early-'60s material. She sings "No Regrets" as though she's writing the song herself as she goes along, wrapping herself around every syllable the way an opera singer might, and throws herself into "Moon River," "I Wish You Love," and most of the rest with an intensity that's scary. The only unfortunate choice in the track list is "The Liquidator," a painful, transparent attempt at the time to create another "Goldfinger" (which is not on this disc) that is solely of value as a showcase for Bassey; there are few singers in any era (and perhaps none) whose sound and technique would have yielded a movie song or a recording of this type, so closely wedded to a predecessor. Far better as a totally enveloping experience of song and singer is "People," which could make you forget any other rendition you've ever heard. The sound is about as good as it gets and is astoundingly good for a CD this vintage -- the kettle drums on "I Wish You Love" at the song's crescendo sound like they're in the room with you.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:59 Spotify
2 3:04 Spotify
3 2:54
4 2:51
5 3:26 Spotify
6 2:23 Spotify
7 2:54 Spotify
8 4:36 Spotify
9 2:19 Spotify
10 2:27 Spotify
11 3:24 Spotify
12 2:51 Spotify
13 4:22 Spotify
14 3:08 Spotify
15 3:19 Spotify
16 2:25 Spotify
17 4:24 Spotify
18 3:06 Spotify
19 3:06 Spotify
2:26 Spotify
2:09 Spotify
22 2:17 Spotify
23 3:27 Spotify
24 3:12 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick