Ohio Players


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Icon Review

by Andy Kellman

Icon serves as a brief sampling of Ohio Players' releases for Mercury -- a period that spanned 1974 through 1978, after the band was with Capitol and Westbound. This handy if brief disc contains all of the group's Top Ten R&B singles for the label: "Jive Turkey," "Skin Tight," "Fire," "I Want to Be Free," "Sweet Sticky Thing," "Love Rollercoaster," "Fopp," and "Who'd She Coo?" (misprinted on the cover as "Who's She Coo"). Released in 2014, it essentially replaces 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Ohio Players (2000) as the go-to budget anthology, but it lacks "Heaven Must Be Like This," which wasn't a charting single but quickly became a fan favorite after the Skin Tight album hit shelves.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Ohio Players 07:53 Amazon
2 Ohio Players 07:08 Amazon
3 Ohio Players 07:16 Amazon
4 Ohio Players 04:33 Amazon
5 Ohio Players 06:50 Amazon
6 Ohio Players 03:50 Amazon
7 Ohio Players 06:16 Amazon
8 Ohio Players 04:47 Amazon
9 Ohio Players 04:31 Amazon
10 Ohio Players 03:09 Amazon
11 Ohio Players 09:37 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick