The Bobby Fuller Four

I Fought the Law/KRLA King of the Wheels

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Del-Fi combined the Bobby Fuller Four's first two albums, KRLA King of the Wheels and I Fought the Law, on a single disc. Producer Bob Keane and disc jockeys from KRLA in Los Angeles helped conceive the idea for KRLA King of the Wheels. The KRLA Top Eliminator was a customized dragster made for promotion, and the Bobby Fuller Four provided this 11-song album. The title track is a reworking of "King of the Beach," and an earlier record from the band's days in El Paso, TX. There are three other car songs, a killer version of Buddy Holly's "Love's Made a Fool of You," and two non-original songs that Bobby Fuller hated, "I'm a Lucky Guy" and "The Magic Touch." Meanwhile, the title track of I Fought the Law was an international smash for the group and certainly their most recognized and popular single. Fuller's idol was Buddy Holly, and former Cricket Sonny Curtis wrote the song that first came out on the Crickets 1962 album In Style with the Crickets. "Let Her Dance" was also a hit and is included. Chip Taylor wrote "Julie," a Hollyesque pounder of infectious proportion. Ten of the 12 songs are Bobby Fuller Four original compositions. "Only When I Dream" could have been written for the Everly Brothers, while "A New Shade of Blue" and "Fool of Love" are more moderate ballads that contrast to the upbeat and infectiously danceable quality of the remaining songs. More consistent than KRLA King of the Wheels, it is a masterpiece from the mid-'60s and the best album released in Fuller's lifetime.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:50
2 2:45
3 2:34
4 2:03
5 3:12
6 1:24
7 2:48
8 2:32
9 2:16
10 2:58
11 2:00
12 2:36
13 2:02
14 2:19
15 2:21
16 1:37
17 2:11
18 2:39
19 2:57
20 2:01
21 2:41
22 2:05
23 2:54
24 2:13
blue highlight denotes track pick