Kirsten Sturm

Hindemith: Organ Sonatas Nos. 1-3; Eleven Interludes from Ludus Tonalis; Two Organ Pieces

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Kirsten Sturm's recital of organ music by Paul Hindemith presents the three organ sonatas, which have become favorites of the modern repertoire, the early Two Pieces, and an organ transcription of Eleven Interludes from Ludus Tonalis, which were originally composed for piano. Hindemith's contributions to organ literature were small, but that's not to say they were negligible. Indeed, the directness and neo-classical clarity of the organ sonatas have made them excellent models for composers, and organists increasingly program them because their inventiveness and accessibility appeal to audiences. The Two Pieces are succinct studies that show Hindemith's curiosity about the instrument, though the ideas are not fully formed and they might slip by if not given close attention. The Eleven Interludes were arranged in 1981 by Joachim Dorfmüller, and their distinct harmonies and lively contrapuntal style are quite similar to the sonatas, thereby balancing the program with music of comparable substance and wit. Sturm's playing is confident and clear-headed, revealing both a fine intellectual appreciation of Hindemith's ideas, as well as a clever approach to registration that makes the music sound crisp and clean in the responsive acoustics of Rottenburg Cathedral.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Organ Sonata No. 1
1 1:51
2 5:58
3 2:42
4 2:50
5 5:15
Organ Sonata No. 2
6 4:23
7 3:46
8 3:11
Organ Sonata No. 3
9 2:23
10 1:56
11 3:18
12 2:24
Two Organ Pieces
13 2:48
14 4:31
Eleven Interludes from Ludus Tonalis
15 1:46
16 1:28
17 1:42
18 1:50
19 1:25
20 2:31
21 3:34
22 2:12
23 2:27
24 2:38
25 2:59
blue highlight denotes track pick