Eva Fampas

Greek Guitar Music

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Eva Fampas is a representative of the modern Greek classical guitar tradition, both as a virtuoso performer and as the daughter of guitarist and composer, Dimitris Fampas. Through him, she can trace a strong connection back to the artistry of Andrés Segovia, who was her father's teacher and an inspiration to many guitarists and composers of guitar music who flourished in Greece in the 1950s. This Naxos album is a survey of the music written or transcribed by such important figures as the elder Fampas, Mikis Theodorakis, George Mavroedes, Nikos Athanassakis, Kyriakos Tzortzinakis, Kostas Hadjopoulos, Nickos Harizanos, and Minas Bogris, most of whom are represented by short pieces of a few minutes' duration. Fampas pays tribute to her father by playing substantial works of his, such as the Greek Suite, and a pair of miniatures, Vals and the Sousta from Three Greek Dances. Because these are examples, rather than in-depth explorations of the composers' particular styles, one can only get a general taste of the music. But it is quite inviting and enjoyable, with a kind of Mediterranean flair, and Fampas shows great affection for this school, which should appeal strongly to fans of Segovia and classical guitar in general.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Four Greek Images
1 1:55 Amazon
2 1:03 Amazon
3 1:14 Amazon
4 1:26 Amazon
5 2:51
Three Greek Dances
6 4:27
7 2:02
Epitaphs (8) for guitar (arr. by Yianni Iliopoulis from song cycle)
8 2:20
9 3:14
Three Greek Sketches
10 1:54 Amazon
11 1:12 Amazon
12 1:11 Amazon
13 5:14 Amazon
14 2:44 Amazon
15 2:39 Amazon
Two Ballads and Dance, Op. 112
16 2:36 Amazon
17 3:00 Amazon
18 4:24 Amazon
Greek Suite
19 3:51 Amazon
20 4:13
21 4:07
22 4:31
23 1:44 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick