Ludwig Güttler

Gottfried Homilius: Erwachet, ihr Christen

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Carus Verlag's Gottfried August Homilius: Erwachet, ihr Christen was recorded in the Frauenkirche Dresden in March 2009 and features an ad hoc ensemble -- actually several ensembles --performing chorale-based compositions of Homilius, ranging from full cantata settings to short chorale preludes for solo instrument and organ, and in several cases the soloist is legendary trumpeter Ludwig Güttler, who also seems to be in charge of this whole deal. In the midst of the program is a solo sonata for oboe, played by Andreas Lorenz, and each chorale prelude is preceded by the original chorale melody from which the prelude is taken. Despite its wide variety of offerings, it isn't a very interesting album; it's reasonably well played apart from a slightly distracted sounding string section in the cantata Fahre hin, du Lust der Welt. However, Homilius' music is as a plain as the day is long, and this selection of sacred music shows him hard at work, creating music suitable for the church in an only occasionally inspired, workmanlike 18th century milieu. Homilius is a major concern for the Carus Verlag publishing house, and naturally it makes sense to record their editions rather than have them mangled in performances by others made out of their control. However, the star of this show is neither Güttler nor Homilius, but the generous reverb of the Frauenkirche as it supplies the disc with its most interesting moments, particularly when a solo instrument or singer is heard. Otherwise, Carus Verlag's Gottfried August Homilius: Erwachet, ihr Christen is often pleasant, but mostly rather boring.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 00:42 Amazon
2 02:49 Amazon
3 00:46 Amazon
4 03:39 Amazon
5 01:07 Amazon
6 03:21 Amazon
7 00:47 Amazon
8 01:59 Amazon
Kantate: Fahre hin, du lust der Welt HoWV II.172
9 05:12 Amazon
10 00:51 Amazon
11 07:00 Amazon
12 00:56 Amazon
13 03:03 Amazon
14 00:45 Amazon
15 02:20 Amazon
16 00:45 Amazon
17 02:56 Amazon
18 00:32 Amazon
19 02:00 Amazon
Sonate füe Oboe und Basso continuo HoWV XI.1
20 01:44 Amazon
21 02:28 Amazon
22 01:02 Amazon
23 01:14 Amazon
24 00:56 Amazon
25 03:19 Amazon
26 01:04 Amazon
27 03:18 Amazon
28 00:51 Amazon
29 02:50 Amazon
30 00:51 Amazon
31 02:53 Amazon
Kantate: Erwachet, ihr Christen, HoWV II.57
32 04:21 Amazon
33 01:38 Amazon
34 01:57 Amazon
35 01:31 Amazon
36 01:56 Amazon
37 01:26 Amazon
38 01:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick