Christine Lavin

Getting in Touch with My Inner Bitch

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Getting in Touch With My Inner Bitch, is a live release, assembled from five different shows in the spring and summer of 1999. It's a mixture of half new and half old songs, and Lavin might have been better advised to wait until she had a whole new album's worth of new material, but the product demands of having your own label may have precluded that. The result, however, is that Getting in Touch With My Inner Bitch is something of a hodgepodge, none of its new songs really standing up to the best of the old. Only "Harrison Ford," which the singer herself describes as a four-minute song about a one-second encounter, sounds like a keeper; the title song is really a spoken word comedy routine with a musical chorus. The other side of the humor is sadness, explored in such songs as "Plateau," which describes an unhappy, long-term marriage, and "Adjust Your Dreams," in which people deal with disappointment. While she always includes such songs on her albums and in her shows, Lavin never seems to do more than sketch a serious scene and then move on to the next bit of comic shtick, which tends to render that material closer to bathos than pathos.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 00:32
2 04:51
3 01:02
4 04:14
5 00:54
6 03:30
7 00:50
8 00:45
9 04:46
10 00:31
11 03:35
12 00:46
14 05:43
15 03:21
16 05:22
17 06:22
18 01:02
19 06:20
20 05:01
blue highlight denotes track pick