Kathleen Landis

Gershwin: Island to Island

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Pianist and vocalist Kathleen Landis pays tribute to George Gershwin in his centennial year on her unique and strong debut Gershwin: Island to Island. Landis employs an impressive lineup of jazz stalwarts interweaving Eddie Gomez, Wallace Roney, Eddie Henderson, and Joe Locke on the full "Cuban Overture Fantasy" suite. The sections are broken up into morning, afternoon, and night, interweaving with Gershwin standards including "Someone to Watch Over Me," "Embraceable You," and "My Man's Gone Now." The music switches between a piano trio to the Bob Parsons orchestration created from sketches Landis and musical director Charles Moore had worked on for more than a year. Gaining influence from the Miles Davis/Gil Evans collaborations, Gershwin: Island to Island adds a new chapter to the world of this legendary composer's songbook.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:51 SpotifyAmazon
2 4:02 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:45 SpotifyAmazon
4 1:00 SpotifyAmazon
5 5:35 SpotifyAmazon
6 7:31 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:19 SpotifyAmazon
8 4:21 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:45 SpotifyAmazon
10 1:00 SpotifyAmazon
11 5:35 SpotifyAmazon
12 1:09 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:31 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:02 SpotifyAmazon
15 4:56 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:40 SpotifyAmazon
17 4:46 SpotifyAmazon
18 3:06 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick