Paul van Dyk

Gatecrasher Anthems 2010

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Mixed by Paul van Dyk, Gatecrasher Anthems is a triple-disc mix album of trance favorites intermixed with more recent material from the DJ/producer's label Vandit Records. It was released a year after the retrospective albums Gatecrasher Trance Anthems: 1993-2009 and Gatecrasher Club Anthems: 1993-2009, and follows more or less the same formula, albeit with van Dyk at the helm. Gatecrasher, a superclub in Sheffield, England that reigned during the late-'90s trance boom, lost much of its luster during the 2000s as the U.K. club scene underwent changes. By the end of the decade, the brand was a shadow of its former self, having been reinvented time and time again to mixed results. The album releases that began with Gatecrasher: Black in 1998 continued unabated, but they tended toward nostalgia rather than the cutting edge. Indeed, Gatecrasher Anthems is anchored by some trance classics that have been played to death yet remain crowd-pleasers all the same, most notably the opening tracks, Robert Miles' "Children" and Energy 52's "Café del Mar." Other oldies but goodies include Planet Perfecto's "Bullet in a Gun," Moby's "Go," and Delerium's "Silence." Intermixed with Gatecrasher anthems of yesteryear are contemporary club hits (by the likes of Faithless, Deadmau5, and Armin van Buuren), some lesser-known rising stars (Filo & Peri, Giuseppi Ottaviani, Reverse), and choice selections from the Vandit Records catalog, including quite a few productions by the DJ/producer himself. For anyone who fondly remembers the glory days of Gatecrasher at the turn of the century, the abundance of old material here makes for a pleasant trip down memory lane, especially on the third disc, where there is a nonstop parade of classics, among them Three Drives' "Greece 2000," Nalin & Kane's "Beachball," BT's "Flaming June," and Underworld's "Born Slippy."

blue highlight denotes track pick