Various Artists

Free Soul Walk

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Free Soul Walk offers another convincing argument that compiler Toru Hashimoto is a mixmaster without peer: among usual suspects like Phyllis Hyman ("You Know How to Love Me"), Jon Lucien ("Who Will Buy?"), and Gil Scott-Heron ("When You Are Who You Are"), he has the audacity to include schlockmeisters like Tony Orlando & Dawn ("Love the One You're With") and Melissa Manchester ("I Wanna Be Where You Are") -- and somehow, it all fits beautifully. The entire disc is unusually eclectic, even for a Free Soul collection. Yet again, a seemingly disparate batch of funk, fusion, and soft rock tunes come together against all odds to create a seamless, richly atmospheric listening experience. Other highlights include the Blow Monkeys' "It Doesn't Have to Be This Way," Eurythmics' "There Must Be an Angel," and Odyssey's "Don't Tell Me, Tell Her."