El Caballero

Luigi Texidor

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

El Caballero Review

by José A. Estévez, Jr.

Luigi Texidor's third solo effort for Nuestra Records shows a few signs of stagnation, leading to the public indifference that early-'80s salsa was beginning to receive. Nevertheless, the material is quite enjoyable and tunes like "Pitirre Pa' Guaguancó," "Decencia," "El Ataque Me Da," "El Llanto de las Flores," "Mi Testamento," "Pregúntale a las Estrellas," "Criollo Soy," and "Va a Gastar Mi Dinero" are almost tailor-made for the abilities of the talented improvisational singer.