The Rankin Family

Do You Hear...Christmas With Heather, Cookie & Raylene Rankin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Striking out on their own, the female part of the Rankins (or the Rankin Family, as they were originally known) chose to make a Christmas album. The problem with making Christmas albums is that artists are messing around with memories, attempting to take traditional songs and make them their own while maintaining the songs' original beauty and nostalgia. In this case, Heather, Cookie, and Raylene Rankin attempt put their own stamp on traditional songs and they do not always succeed. Yes, their vocals are wonderful, but it is their choice of arrangements that is the real problem. The almost hip-hop beats throughout "I Wonder as I Wander" is embarrassing, as is their "jazz" interpretation of "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree." The only original on the album, "The Christmas Star" (written by Heather Rankin), is actually the highlight of the CD. They do mix in some Celtic sounds with the help of Natalie MacMaster and fellow Rankins member John Morris Rankin, but these songs sound forced and lack the excitement that once made the Rankins so vital. The music here does provide nice background music for those Christmas dinner parties, but otherwise it is of little interest.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:50
2 4:16
3 3:41
4 4:12
5 3:45
6 4:03
7 4:13
8 2:35
9 4:10
10 2:55
11 3:19
12 2:43
13 3:21
14 4:01
15 2:55
blue highlight denotes track pick