• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Andy Kellman

The selections on Sascha Ring's contribution to the !K7 label’s DJ-Kicks series date back to the early ‘90s, but there’s technically no looking back on the part of the DJ/producer. They’ve all been “recently discovered.” The majority of this set does originate from 2006-2010, incorporating lean dubstep and streamlined techno with a couple outliers. 69’s “Rushed,” released by Carl Craig in 1993, is easily the most physical and intense of the lot. Strangely, it’s deployed as the second track in the sequence. Very shortly thereafter, the mix switches from charging to relatively sedate -- alternately melodic and abstract material suited more for home listening than clubbing. A handful of the highlights come off newer dubstep/post-dubstep 12" releases: Cosmin TRG's scuffling “Tower Block,” Ramadanman’s pinging/churning “Tempest,” and Joy Orbison's buoyant “The Shrew Would Have Cushioned the Blow” (the latter two of which were included on Scuba’s earlier Sub:Stance mix). Ring’s own “Sayulita,” an exclusive, is one of his most evocative, dynamic productions of late, full of space and percussive friction.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Apparat 03:04 SpotifyAmazon
2 Apparat feat: 69 02:40
3 Apparat feat: Telefon Tel Aviv 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
4 Apparat 01:24 SpotifyAmazon
5 Apparat feat: Luke Abbott 01:09 SpotifyAmazon
6 Apparat feat: Oval 01:31 SpotifyAmazon
Apparat feat: Patrice Bäumel 01:01 SpotifyAmazon
Apparat feat: Martyn 02:18
9 Apparat feat: Ripperton 02:25 SpotifyAmazon
Apparat feat: Cosmin TRG 01:28 SpotifyAmazon
11 Apparat feat: Scorn 02:12
12 Apparat feat: Born Ruffians 04:18
13 Apparat feat: Pantha du Prince 04:02 SpotifyAmazon
14 Apparat feat: Phon.O 02:10 SpotifyAmazon
15 Apparat feat: Burial / Four Tet 04:55 SpotifyAmazon
16 Apparat feat: Vincent Markowski 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
Apparat feat: Ramadanman 04:29 SpotifyAmazon
18 Apparat feat: Thom Yorke 03:47 SpotifyAmazon
19 Apparat feat: Spherix 01:15 SpotifyAmazon
20 Apparat feat: Oval 01:00 SpotifyAmazon
21 Apparat feat: Joy Orbison 04:49 SpotifyAmazon
22 Apparat 03:58 SpotifyAmazon
Apparat feat: T++ 01:55 SpotifyAmazon
24 Apparat feat: Tim Hecker 05:06 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick