Various Artists

Discotheque Bruitisme

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Discotheque Bruitisme is a compilation album released to mark the inception of the label eP, an offshoot of the German electronica imprint Wachsender Prozess. This CD was actually slated for release on WP in 1999 before the split between El Stick and the label happened. As a result, many of the tracks heard here were already out of sync with their originator's artistic evolution by the time the CD finally came out late in 2000. The 14 tracks were yet unreleased and include contributions by such high-profile artists as Reznicek, Mouse on Mars, and Groenland Orchester (the first piece ever recorded by this ensemble). Discotheque Bruitisme embraces experimental electronica at large, from quirky techno-pop to musique concrète. It's a mixed bag; highlights vary depending on the listener's tastes. Some sure values include Wrag Naroda's electro-acoustic piece "Kalt"; Ostinato's techno-dub "Rondo"; Hematic Sunsets' "Bandage Aromatique," a very different kind of dub, eerie and bass-less; and Groenland Orchester's "Zahnradseide," a puzzling piece of industrial electro-acoustic. Even though the scope of styles is wide, the CD is listenable as a whole, but you'll probably feel the irrepressible urge to skip a couple of tracks. There are no essential numbers by the artists represented, but Discotheque Bruitisme still nicely portrays the German scene at the turn of the century.

blue highlight denotes track pick