Sophie Harmsen / Mari Kodama / L'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande / Kazuki Yamada

De Falla: Noches en los Jardines de España; El Sombrero de Tres Picos

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For this 2017 Pentatone release, Manuel de Falla's most popular works are presented by Kazuki Yamada and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in glorious DSD sound. Featuring pianist Mari Kodama in the dazzling quasi-concerto Noches en los jardines de España (Nights in the Gardens of Spain) and mezzo-soprano Sophie Harmsen in the ballet El sombrero de tres picos (The Three-Cornered Hat), this album is a showcase for brilliant performances and Pentatone's extraordinary multichannel recording, which brings these vivid masterworks to life. Details that are often overlooked or obscured in recordings of Noches en los jardines de España are crisp and fully audible here, and Kodama's virtuosic solo part is always evident in the lush scoring, even as it recedes in softer passages or emerges from the shade in prismatic bursts. In contrast to the darker timbres of Noches, El sombrero de tres picos has brighter sonorities and a rambunctious, festive feeling, and the dances explode with energy and humor. Also included in this audiophile release are the colorful Interlude and Dance from the opera La vida breve (Life Is Short) and the ever-popular Danza ritual del fuego (Ritual Fire Dance) from El amor brujo (The Bewitched Love), two of de Falla's greatest hits rounding out this disc with passion and intensity.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Noches en los jardines de España
1 09:58 Amazon
2 04:51 Amazon
3 08:46 Amazon
El sombrero de tres picos
4 01:29 Amazon
5 05:23 Amazon
6 03:26 Amazon
7 03:58 Amazon
8 03:22 Amazon
9 07:56 Amazon
10 06:37 Amazon
11 06:07 Amazon
La vida breve
12 06:43 Amazon
13 04:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick