Martha & the Vandellas

Dance Party/Watchout!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The two most solid original albums that Martha & the Vandellas ever issued make an awesome single CD -- the hits, of which there are five here, three of them ("Dancing in the Street," "Nowhere to Run," "Jimmy Mack") monster best-sellers, speak for themselves, but it's everything else that makes this British imported CD worth tracking down. Motown has been upgrading the sound on its hits singles for years, but this is a chance to hear those dance numbers off of Dance Party -- including their versions of "Mickey's Monkey" and "Hitch Hike" -- pounding away like the bassist and drummer are in the room with you; and the dazzling soul ballads off of Watchout! the way they should be heard, the voices in high-resolution 24-bit digital audio that sounds so good that this reviewer doesn't even mind the fact that the singles are represented by their stereo mixes (mono was the way they went out on 45 and the radio). The jewels unique to this CD -- "Wild One," "There He Is (At My Door)," "What Am I Going to Do Without Your Love," "No More Tearstained Make Up," "I'll Follow You," "One Way Out," "Tell Me I'll Never Be Alone" -- make this a bargain even at 20-plus dollars retail, every detail of the singing right in your lap. The annotation is minimal, as usual in this series of British reissues, but the music is what matters, and that truly sounds better than ever. As a bonus, the producers have thrown on the contemporaneous single "Third Finger, Left Hand" and "Can't Break the Habit," both in previously unissued stereo mixes, and an alternate take of "No More Tearstained Make Up."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:45
2 2:17
3 2:48
4 3:01
5 2:25
6 2:37
7 2:16
8 2:24
9 2:49
10 2:18
11 2:37
12 2:35
13 2:54
14 2:29
15 2:48
17 2:55
18 2:28
19 2:35
20 2:20
21 2:49
22 2:54
24 3:03
25 3:08
26 3:23
27 3:03
blue highlight denotes track pick