Dan Bryk

Dan Bryk Rocks Nobody

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Bridging the lengthier-than-expected gap between Dan Bryk, Asshole and Lovers Leap, Dan Bryk Rocks Nobody offers up a terrific trilogy of tracks celebrating rejection. "Rock Nobody" rocks much harder than you'd think (the title is partly a jab at himself for rocking when he'd previously promised that he wouldn't rock) while counting out what he doesn't want from his life and his music career. Continuing with career griping, "CFNY" simultaneously slams a favorite old alternative radio station for not picking him as a music search contest winner while also getting a dig in at the station for starting to play music that's popular and, well, sucks. Tying it all down is "2nd Lynn," a bittersweet remembrance of an ex-girlfriend with the same name as a previous ex, venturing that he should have known better as soon as he heard the name. All three tracks this time out were recorded with the aid of the CBC and an all-star cast of musicians (including long-time Bryk collaborator and all around good guy Kurt Swinghammer, as well as future Toronto sensation Renan). If you're one of the lucky ones, you may get a double bonus with your copy of Dan Bryk Rocks Nobody: not only is the 7" single minted on green vinyl, but select copies also come with a home-burned CD single featuring the same songs.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:45
2 2:23
3 4:46
blue highlight denotes track pick