Chopin: The Mazurka Diary

Anna Gourari

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Chopin: The Mazurka Diary Review

by James Manheim

The concept album that a buyer might expect from the title The Mazurka Diary isn't explicitly delivered here; the title refers to Gourari's general sentiment, expressed in her portion of the booklet notes in German and English, that "for me, Chopin's mazurkas are more than dances or stylized dance music, and represent something like a musical diary which contains childhood memories as well as worldly wisdom, longings, dreams of love, despair, resignation, and presentiments of death. Indeed, dying itself." Annotator Bernhard Neuhoff adds a history of Chopin's mazurkas, chiming in with the idea that they form an "intimate diary." Their special status in this regard apparently comes from the fact that they're distinctively Polish, but not in a way that the polonaise was, and Chopin himself said he had to "coax mazurkas out of my conflict-ridden heart." It's all a bit vague, but the young Russian pianist Anna Gourari pulls it off. Large groups of mazurkas do work well together on a recording; the mazurka rhythm is always there, but it's never treated the same way twice. And this recording announces a very strong new Chopin interpreter. Despite her disclaimers about the dance component, she keeps the beat going steadily, with rubato applied for specific effect rather than in a global, free-floating way. Tempos are on the quick side. And this is Gourari's strength: she produces poetic readings even within this framework. The effect of even a familiar piece like the actually modal Mazurka in A minor, Op. 17/4, is not so much dreamy as evocative of a rich inner life in constant motion. It's a fresh way of looking at Chopin's mazurkas, and it makes one want to hear what Gourari does with the other genres of Chopin's piano music. Clear and moderately scaled sound from the Salzburg Mozarteum contributes to the overall effect.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Anna Gourari 03:17 Amazon
2 Anna Gourari 02:25 Amazon
3 Anna Gourari 01:03 Amazon
4 Anna Gourari 02:02 Amazon
5 Anna Gourari 02:48 Amazon
6 Anna Gourari 00:44 Amazon
7 Anna Gourari 01:47 Amazon
8 Anna Gourari 04:58 Amazon
9 Anna Gourari 02:20 Amazon
10 Anna Gourari 02:19 Amazon
11 Anna Gourari 01:30 Amazon
12 Anna Gourari 01:21 Amazon
13 Anna Gourari 02:37 Amazon
14 Anna Gourari 04:04 Amazon
15 Anna Gourari 05:13 Amazon
16 Anna Gourari 02:54 Amazon
17 Anna Gourari 05:14 Amazon
18 Anna Gourari 01:46 Amazon
19 Anna Gourari 03:50 Amazon
20 Anna Gourari 02:31 Amazon
21 Anna Gourari 03:24 Amazon
22 Anna Gourari 01:27 Amazon
23 Anna Gourari 01:48 Amazon
24 Anna Gourari 01:30 Amazon
25 Anna Gourari 02:26 Amazon
26 Anna Gourari 01:38 Amazon
27 Anna Gourari 02:31 Amazon
28 Anna Gourari 01:29 Amazon
29 Anna Gourari 02:00 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick