The Rezillos

Can't Stand the Rezillos: The (Almost) Complete Rezillos

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The 1993 re-release of the Rezillos' sole album as such lives up to its name perfectly -- Can't Stand the Rezillos: The (Almost) Complete Rezillos is indeed almost the complete collection of work that the band officially released during its heyday-of-punk lifetime. As such it's an absolute killer, divided between the original Can't Stand the Rezillos album and the live Mission Accomplished album, along with both sides of the "Destination Venus"/"Mystery Action" single. Ira Robbins' detailed and appreciative band history also makes note of what's missing for completists' sakes -- the original recording of "I Can't Stand My Baby," a remake of the Beatles' "I Wanna Be Your Man," "20,000 Rezillos Under the Sea," and the single version of "Top of the Pops." There's one other excision -- the live "Destination Venus" had to be dropped from Mission Accomplished to fit everything else on the disc. But the end result really can't be argued with -- the remastering of the studio tracks is solid, the live tracks, while not recorded as clearly as they could have been, get shined up as best as they can. The bemusing killer touch is J Mascis's brief scrawl of appreciation -- if anything, he maintains his reputation for being as reticent in print as he is in real life (but his claim that this could be the best bass playing on the Sire label is probably accurate).

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:50 Amazon
2:22 Amazon
3 1:54 Amazon
4 2:55 Amazon
5 2:59 Amazon
6 2:11 Amazon
7 2:23 Amazon
8 2:07 Amazon
9 3:11 Amazon
10 1:46 Amazon
11 2:07 Amazon
12 2:55 Amazon
13 2:16 Amazon
14 3:35 Amazon
15 2:46 Amazon
16 2:54 Amazon
17 2:46 Amazon
18 1:48 Amazon
19 2:31 Amazon
20 2:56 Amazon
21 3:08 Amazon
2:15 Amazon
23 2:14 Amazon
24 1:49 Amazon
25 3:11 Amazon
26 2:01 Amazon
27 4:47 Amazon
28 3:20 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick