Various Artists

Caise Ceoil

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Caise Ceoil Review

by Bradley Torreano

Clo lar-Chonnachta has put together 22 tracks of traditional Irish folk music on their 2001 release, Caise Ceoil. Although the album has a rich variety of Irish folk musicians performing the songs, to the casual listener there is not much to tell them apart. In fact, much of the music suffers from feeling the same. The songs are all pleasant and certainly well-performed, yet after a few songs it is easy to lose track of when one song begins or ends. To be fair, this collection seems geared toward collectors more than the general public. That being said, there is some excellent music to be found on the disc, particularly Marcas O Murchu's touching "The Coalminers" and Gearoidin Breathnach's minimalist rendition of "A Droighnean Donn." Fans of the genre will probably enjoy this collection very much, but it is unlikely that it has the crossover appeal to rope in anyone unfamiliar with Irish folk music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Brian McGrath 03:09 Amazon
2 03:41 Amazon
3 Paddy Canny 02:57 Amazon
4 03:02 Amazon
5 04:52 Amazon
6 Catherine McEvoy 02:17 Amazon
7 Johnny Óg Connolly 03:34 Amazon
8 Joe Ryan 03:39 Amazon
9 Gerry Harrington / Charlie Piggott 03:22 Amazon
10 03:19 Amazon
11 Sean Hernon 02:17 Amazon
12 Johnny Óg Connolly / Brian McGrath 03:22 Amazon
13 03:56 Amazon
14 Ben Lennon 03:30 Amazon
15 03:44 Amazon
16 Johnny Óg Connolly 04:03 Amazon
17 Paddy Canny 02:23 Amazon
18 04:54 Amazon
19 Catherine McEvoy 02:42 Amazon
20 Gerry Harrington / Charlie Piggott 02:26 Amazon
21 04:36 Amazon
22 03:28 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick