Original Soundtrack

Café Society [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Set in New York City in the 1930s, Café Society is a 2016 romantic comedy by director Woody Allen, his 47th film. The 15-song soundtrack features a reliable mix of big-band era tunes, with archival recordings such as "I Didn't Know What Time It Was" by Benny Goodman & His Orchestra, as well as eight covers by contemporary outfit Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks, who specialize in early swing. The ensemble also appeared on the soundtrack for the director's 1996 film Everyone Says I Love You (and non-Allen projects such as Boardwalk Empire and The Aviator). Here, they do piano-led instrumentals ranging from a lively "The Lady Is a Tramp" to a graceful take on Rodgers & Hart's "Manhattan." Also newly recorded for the film are versions of "Out of Nowhere" and "This Can't Be Love" by pianist Conal Fowkes, also a prior soundtrack collaborator of Allen's, and a member of the Woody Allen New Orleans Jazz Band.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:51
2 02:06
3 02:32
4 01:45
5 03:20
6 02:49
7 04:14
8 03:49
9 03:17
10 03:18
11 03:27
12 02:31
13 02:41
14 03:11
15 03:33
blue highlight denotes track pick