Brain Weather: The Story of the Rosenbergs

Jon Rose

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Brain Weather: The Story of the Rosenbergs Review

by François Couture

As a radio playwright, Jon Rose's art peaked in 1993. Brain Weather is simply unclassifiable. A pure work of mystification, it intermingles levels of narration and themes through seemingly unrelated but nonetheless alternating scenes. While the narrative jumps around from tales of a plastic surgeon to pathetic court scenes (featuring the delightfully exuberant vocalist Phil Minton), an encounter of the third kind, and libidinous golf stories, the music covers as much erratic ground. Modern composition, cabaret jazz, death metal, electro-acoustics, and cheap impersonations of Bob Dylan assault the listener. Once again the central character is the Rosenberg family, portrayed here as a bunch of lunatics. The brain is explored in all its meanders, psychological phenomena providing a loose guiding thread, the word "brain" itself turning into a comical leitmotif. The piece, 50 minutes total, feels monolithic at first hearing -- such is its density and relentlessness. After a few listens it reveals itself as a highly enjoyable work, brilliant in its own surreal way (Shelley Hirsch is another featured singer). The album is completed by the 20-minute "The Weather Man," an improvisation by Rose on a violin linked to a computer system. His "real" playing is left unaltered, but augmented by interacting transformations and synthesized sounds. Brain Weather is simply the craziest of Rose's plays from the early to mid-'90s. Recommended to listeners with a sense of humor.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Jon Rose 01:37 Amazon
2 Jon Rose 01:28 Amazon
3 Jon Rose 01:11 Amazon
4 Jon Rose 01:12 Amazon
5 Jon Rose 01:27 Amazon
6 Jon Rose 00:48 Amazon
7 Jon Rose 01:00 Amazon
8 Jon Rose 01:54 Amazon
9 Jon Rose 01:20 Amazon
10 Jon Rose 04:10 Amazon
11 Jon Rose 03:19 Amazon
12 Jon Rose 01:01 Amazon
13 Jon Rose 02:52 Amazon
14 Jon Rose 01:44 Amazon
15 Jon Rose 02:15 Amazon
16 Jon Rose 00:52 Amazon
17 Jon Rose 03:18 Amazon
18 Jon Rose 02:20 Amazon
19 Jon Rose 00:51 Amazon
20 Jon Rose 04:47 Amazon
21 Jon Rose 01:38 Amazon
22 Jon Rose 00:56 Amazon
23 Jon Rose 01:15 Amazon
24 Jon Rose 02:34 Amazon
25 Jon Rose 00:46 Amazon
26 Jon Rose 02:53 Amazon
27 Jon Rose 00:41 Amazon
28 Jon Rose 02:16 Amazon
29 Jon Rose 00:39 Amazon
30 Jon Rose 01:34 Amazon
31 Jon Rose 01:12 Amazon
32 Jon Rose 02:03 Amazon
33 Jon Rose 00:21 Amazon
34 Jon Rose 01:41 Amazon
35 Jon Rose 00:16 Amazon
36 Jon Rose 01:12 Amazon
37 Jon Rose 01:32 Amazon
38 Jon Rose 01:34 Amazon
39 Jon Rose 01:32 Amazon
40 Jon Rose 01:00 Amazon
41 Jon Rose 03:05 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick