Various Artists

Boy Meets Girl

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 1969, label executive Al Bell had decided that Stax should move on from being solely singles based and hit on the idea of pairing together the greatest male and female singers from the roster to perform numbers penned by Stax's top writers. With a selection of quality songs, uncompromising vocal duets, even a mass choir consisting of all the performers (Johnnie Taylor, Eddie Floyd, William Bell, Pervis Staples, Carla Thomas, Mavis Staples, and Cleotha Staples), who join together on album opener "Soul-A-Lujah," anyone who buys this can be guaranteed a soulfully satisfying listen. "Soul-A-Lujah" is a fantastic start, with the singers democratically sharing the limelight as the "Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section" supplies a funky backing. As the album progresses, the pairing of the opposite sex works a perfect combination of danceable numbers and slick balladry. Although not a commercial hit at the time, Boy Meets Girl is a very exciting album full of fine songs and moods.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:41 Spotify
2 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:58 SpotifyAmazon
4 2:41 Spotify
5 2:45 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:20 Spotify
7 2:23 SpotifyAmazon
8 5:30 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:07 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:30 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:41 SpotifyAmazon
4:07 SpotifyAmazon
3:51 SpotifyAmazon
14 3:10 Amazon
15 2:31 SpotifyAmazon
16 2:29 Spotify
3:10 SpotifyAmazon
18 4:18 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick