The Chordettes

Born to Be with You [Ace]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ace's prior Chordettes compilation, Mainly Rock & Roll, included 32 songs, among them all 20 of the ones contained on Born to Be With You. Thus, it's not clear why anyone might prefer Born to Be With You. Although Born to Be With You is budget priced, it seems that anyone in the 21st century who wants to find a Chordettes compilation in the first place wouldn't mind shelling out a few extra bucks for a dozen more songs. The liner notes are even exactly the same on each anthology, though Born to Be With You's booklet does have better graphics. If you do end up with Born to Be With You, it does contain the most renowned Chordettes hits: "Lollipop," "Mister Sandman," "Born to Be With You," "Lay Down Your Arms," and "Just Between You and Me." It's doubtful you'll miss the extras on Mainly Rock & Roll that much, though that comp does include some hits that don't appear on Born to Be With You, like "Zorro" and "Never on Sunday."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:49 Amazon
2 02:09 Amazon
3 02:23 Amazon
4 02:14 Amazon
5 02:52 Amazon
6 02:07 Amazon
7 02:25 Amazon
02:11 Amazon
9 02:22 Amazon
10 02:31 Amazon
11 02:28 Amazon
12 02:15 Amazon
13 02:15 Amazon
14 02:34 Amazon
15 01:32 Amazon
16 02:46 Amazon
17 02:30 Amazon
18 02:32 Amazon
19 02:02 Amazon
20 02:16 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick