Boppin' by the Bayou: Rock Me Mama!

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Boppin' by the Bayou: Rock Me Mama! Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Arriving at the 11th volume in their ongoing By the Bayou series, Ace still finds some treasures in the vaults of J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler, and Floyd Soileau -- these are the record men who provided the discoveries in the rest of the series -- but also dips into the discographies of Big Howdy and Big B, two imprints run by Hack Kennedy, as well as finding room for selections from the Louisiana indies Richland and Sho-Biz. This expanded scope suggests how Boppin' by the Bayou: Rock Me Mama! spans the length of the bayou, never resting at just zydeco, Cajun, blues, or rockabilly. It flits back and forth between these sounds, opening with the raving "Switch Blade Sam" -- Jeff Daniels yowls about Charlie Brown and Lucy in the opening line and it just gets better from there -- and spends a bit of time in pure rock & roll before Warren Storm slides this into blue-eyed R&B and by the middle of this, there are covers of Hank Williams lying only a few cuts away from accordion-fueled boogie. Most of this could be grouped under a rock & roll bucket -- rock & roll encompassed all these swampy sounds in the late '50s and very early '60s, when all of these sides were recorded -- but the flow of the disc helps emphasize the stylistic differences while also having the momentum of a party. As usual, this disc is pretty much nothing but rarities -- Nathan Abshire, Jivin' Gene, and Storm show up, but that's it -- and that only serves to emphasize what a hotbed of creativity Louisiana was in the years after rock & roll.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Jeff Daniels 02:11 Amazon
Al "Puddler" Harris / Al Harris 02:10 Amazon
3 Richard Brothers 02:29 Amazon
4 Warren Storm 02:37 Amazon
5 Joe Carl / Dukes of Rhythm 02:29 Amazon
6 Danny / Danny Winkle 02:18 Amazon
Tony Perreau 02:34 Amazon
8 Johnny Jano 01:47 Amazon
9 Ken Lindsey 02:20 Amazon
10 Al Ferrier 02:12 Amazon
11 Dayward Penny 02:00 Amazon
12 Al Ferrier 02:42 Amazon
Bennie Fruge 03:40 Amazon
14 Shorty LeBlanc & All the Sugar Bees / Shorty LeBlanc 01:50 Amazon
15 Nathan Abshire / Nathan Abshire & the Pinegrove Boys 03:17 Amazon
Bennie Fruge 02:35 Amazon
17 Little Carol 02:11 Amazon
18 Billy Blank 02:00 Amazon
19 Jeff Daniels 02:20 Amazon
20 Jivin' Gene 02:20 Amazon
Rocket Morgan 02:07 Amazon
22 Johnny Jano / Charles Page 02:07 Amazon
23 Erwin Babin / Johnny Jano 01:34 Amazon
24 Erwin Babin / Al Ferrier 02:32 Amazon
25 Al Ferrier / Johnnie Allan & The Krazy Kats 02:26 Amazon
26 Johnnie Allan / Charles Page 02:07 Amazon
Frankie Lowery 02:04 Amazon
28 Collay & the Satellites 01:56 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick