The Black Heart Procession

Blood Bunny/Black Rabbit

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Blood Bunny/Black Rabbit, Black Heart Procession’s post-Six stop-gap before their seventh full-length, is a mini-album that features three new originals and five remixes. The new songs “Blank Page,” “The Orchid,” and “Devotion” are the choice cuts, and are characteristically ominous as piano ballads spruced up with electronic orchestration. Meanwhile, “Freeze” finds iconic Bob Marley producer Lee “Scratch” Perry enhancing the track as only he can, dubbed out with mystical medicine man shouts; Jenkins remixes his own songs “Silence” and "Heaven Below” under the guise Mr. Tube; and "Drugs" is reworked into two trippy songs, with Eluvium’s ten minutes of ambience segueing into an excellent contemplative boom-bap version by Jamuel Saxon.

blue highlight denotes track pick