Various Artists

Bitstream Conversion 0.1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Bitstream Conversion 0.1 is the CD that launched small Belgium label Erewhon. This compilation documents the events organized by Runaway Track. The concert series put together live electronic artists and DJs. The CD follows the same path, letting styles and influences clash together. The project is hosted (the right expression would be "held together") by AMT (aka Artificial Memory Trace), who supplies snippets of weird domestic audio art in the vein of his CD Vol. 7: Ritmax Asimetra serving as interludes between more consistent pieces. Artists featured include IIrO (that would be the letter Pi, as in "pyro"), Plan-net Panic, Rhizomix 23, B-Seed, Girospace, Korghül, and Innerland. Some play together, some are remixed by another, others do their own little thing. The track list follows a course from experimental electronica to dark ambient and finally to more standard (using the term loosely) techno. That is to say: Experimentation recedes and the importance of rhythm becomes stronger the more one advances from one track to the next. The best contributions come from IIrO and Girospace & Korghül (the latter piece will make you feel lost in space inside a very tiny shuttle), plus of course AMT's interpolations. Bitstream Conversion is guaranteed to empty a dancefloor. Once the dancers are all comfortably seated, maybe they'll start listening.

blue highlight denotes track pick