Maria Tecla Andreotti / Sergio Azzolini / Christophe Coin / Jan Willem Jansen

Bach: Reflexio - Sonates pour flûte

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The really cool thing about this disc collecting four of Bach's chamber works featuring the flute is not the playing of flutist Maria Tecla Andreotti, although she's fantastic; not the playing of harpsichordist Jan Willem Jansen, although he's marvelous; and not even the playing of gambaist Christophe Coin, although he's magnificent. No, the really cool thing about this disc is the playing of bassoonist Sergio Azzolini. Because while Andreotti is a superb flutist with a warm tone and a fluent technique, Jansen is a terrific harpsichordist with a light touch and an effortless technique, and Coin is a superior gambaist with a rich tone and an elegant technique. Azzolini is not only a first-rank bassoonist with a rich tone and polished technique, he's also the solid foundation upon which two of these four works are built. While the Sonata in B minor is scored for flute and harpsichord and the Sonata in E minor for flute, harpsichord and cello, the Sonata in E major and the Trio Sonata in G major are scored for flute, harpsichord, cello, and bassoon -- an enthralling combination. In all four works, the ensemble's interplay is exemplary -- tight, relaxed, attentive, and virtuosic -- but when Azzolini joins Andreotti, Jansen, and Coin, the ensemble adds more than another voice and color: it adds another supple and expressive musician for them to play with. Recorded in clear, deep sound, this disc will please anyone who loves Bach's chamber music -- and especially anyone who loves the bassoon.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Sonata for flute & continuo in E major, BWV 1035
1 02:31
2 03:10
3 03:57
4 03:16
Sonata for flute & keyboard in B minor, BWV 1030
5 08:05
6 03:31
7 01:28
8 04:24
Sonata for flute & continuo in E minor, BWV 1034
9 02:57
10 02:55
11 03:47
12 05:12
Sonata for 2 flutes & continuo in G major, BWV 1039
13 03:54
14 03:50
15 02:23
16 03:20
blue highlight denotes track pick