Luigi Piovano

Bach: Cello Suites

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Reworked, re-bowed, re-fingered, argued over, and recorded and re-recorded innumerous times, the Bach Suites for Solo Cello will forever be subject to the personal preferences of listeners and performers alike. Even performers themselves change their interpretations of these great works over the course of their careers, offering listeners multiple recordings from the same cellist. Seeking to throw his hat in the ring is Italian cellist Luidi Piovano, performing the Six Suites on this Eloquentia album. As execution goes, Piovano's vision is nicely straight-forward. He maintains the dance characteristics by not overindulging in unnecessary rubato and tempo fluctuations. His tempo choices are brisk without forcing the sense of virtuosity; vibrato is used appropriately more as an ornament rather than a constant feature. Interestingly, Piovano chooses to play the Sixth Suite on a five-string cello (as Bach had originally intended), though many modern cellists perform it on a standard four-string cello. Despite its many positive features, the one drawback of this particular offering is egregious enough to drive away listeners: sound quality. Eloquentia's recorded sound is distant, echoic, unfocused, and, particularly in the Sixth Suite, unacceptably nasal. All of the finesse and care Piovano attempts to put into his playing is all but lost and, as a result, makes for an album that cannot be recommended.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
1 2:33
2 4:03
3 2:48
4 2:56
5 2:55
6 1:32
Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008
7 3:47
8 3:19
9 2:16
10 4:22
11 2:51
12 2:36
Cello Suite No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009
13 3:31
14 3:29
15 2:52
16 4:15
17 3:46
18 3:11
Cello Suite No. 4 in E flat major, BWV 1010
19 3:17
20 4:06
21 3:18
22 5:11
23 5:10
24 2:30
blue highlight denotes track pick