Various Artists

Aware Compilation, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

AWARE is a Chicago-based indie label specializing in heartland and folk-rock sounds; this collection is the first in an annual series compiling songs from then-unsigned artists from across the country. Thanks in part to their appearance here, the Dallas-based band Jackopierce won a major-label deal; their contributions "Vineyard" and "Rain" are two of the highlights of the debut volume, along with tracks from Acoustic Junction ("Look Before It's Gone" "Penny for Your Thoughts"), Mango Jam ("Keep on Rolling On") and the Thugs ("Somebody").

blue highlight denotes track pick