Teddy Wilson

As Time Goes By

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On four LPs, Discovery reissued the great majority of Teddy Wilson's 1944-7 recordings for Musicraft. This second volume features the great swing pianist heading an octet (which also includes trumpeter Buck Clayton and tenor saxophonist Don Byas), leading two different quartets (starring either tenorman Charlie Ventura or trumpeter Buck Clayton) and playing with a trio. A young Sarah Vaughan is on four selections (including "Time After Time" and "Don't Worry About Me") and overall the music is at a consistently high level. Excellent swing from the tail-end of a classic era.