• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first volume in the Ochre label's archive series, Archif:01 collects on one CD all the tracks Stylus released prior to and outside its two full-length albums, The Last Seaweed Collecting Hut at Freshwater West (1999) and Skomargraph (2000). The set begins with "Kinski," Dafydd Morgan's first release as Stylus, from a split 10" with Longstone in April 1997, and ends with a remix by Longstone of the same piece, exclusive to this collection. In between, the fan finds everything that could have been missed (keeping track of all those limited-edition releases can be difficult): the Groom Lake 8" EP and the various singles and compilation tracks, up to the "Pluen Eira" 7" from December 2000. This set is not for the newcomer: It necessarily lacks cohesion and some material holds limited interest. On the other hand, the fan will be able to follow the artist's development (thanks to a chronological order of presentation), especially when putting these tracks in parallel with the two full-length CDs. "Zero" is an alternate version of the track "(+1)/(-1)" from Skomargraph, and "Pluen Eira (Live)" was recorded in the collecting hut featured on the first album. If anything, this collection shows the importance "Kinski" has taken in Stylus' career, as it is presented in three different forms. Archif:01 is perfect for the lazy completist. Others should definitely start elsewhere.

blue highlight denotes track pick