Benny Goodman

Alternate Goodman, Vol. 10

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The tenth of 12 LPs of Benny Goodman alternate takes and rarities from his period with Columbia contains a variety of odds and ends including three "new" versions of "Gotta Be This or That," two of "Love Walked In" and one apiece of "Clarinade," "Ain't Misbehavin'" and the sextet's "Rachel's Dream." Little did Benny Goodman know that his work in 1945, although hardswinging, was already in danger of slipping behind the times. Despite that, this music is quite enjoyable and timeless.