Lyapis Trubetskoy


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Agitpop Review

by Rick Anderson

Belarusky ska-punk. Doesn't sound promising, does it? And yet the music on this, Lyapis Trubetskoy's heaven-only-knows-how-manyeth album (depending on which version of its discography you believe, the band has released somewhere between nine and 18) is a nonstop party of heavy guitars, militarily precise horns, shout-along choruses, and the occasional outbreak of skanking backbeats. They get bonus points for singing in Russian, and another bonus point for avoiding the frantic, headlong tempos that made so much of 1990s ska-punk boring and unlistenable. Instead, they tend to stay firmly stuck in a midtempo, punk-pop mode that works exceptionally well for them -- especially when they invest the time and effort necessary to craft really good hooks, which, as with most rock bands, is maybe 20 percent of the time. Among the golden 20 percent are the crunchy "Anarkho-Turist" (with its very fine horn chart), the straight-up punk-pop anthem "Kotik," and a brilliant, turntable-heavy remix of "Capital" that also features rapid-fire Russian rapping from Noize MC. Elsewhere they keep things maybe just a bit too simple ("Manifest") or maybe just a bit too polka-flavored ("Krex, Pex, Fex!") or just a bit too plodding ("Burevestnik"), but there's not a single track on this lengthy album that isn't a pleasure to hear, and the 20 percent of them that are brilliant make the whole disc well worth the purchase price.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:35 SpotifyAmazon
2 Lyapis Trubetskoy 01:53 SpotifyAmazon
3 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:37 SpotifyAmazon
4 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
5 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:16 SpotifyAmazon
6 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:50 SpotifyAmazon
7 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:01 SpotifyAmazon
8 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
9 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:59 SpotifyAmazon
10 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:19 SpotifyAmazon
11 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:46 SpotifyAmazon
12 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:45 SpotifyAmazon
13 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:53 SpotifyAmazon
14 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:55 SpotifyAmazon
15 Lyapis Trubetskoy 03:22 SpotifyAmazon
16 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:17 SpotifyAmazon
17 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
18 Lyapis Trubetskoy 02:32 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick